In my July 7th blog post, I announced that Minnesota Heritage Publishing (my small publishing company) is reprinting Maud and Delos Lovelace’s novel, “One Stayed at Welcome”. I’m very excited to unveil the new cover for this book!

Historical artist and illustrator, David Geister was commissioned to do the painting for the book cover. I worked with Dave in 2009 when he painted the new book cover for “The Black Angels” reprint. To learn more about Dave and his work, visit his website: www.davidgeister.com.

From my notes of the descriptions of the characters and scenes from the book, Dave created a beautiful work of art. Shown here is the progression of the book cover from concept to final design.

Dave’s preliminary sketch

2-%22One Stayed at Welcome%22 final painting

First viewing of the original

3-One stayed at Welcome #3

Finished original oil painting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dave with the finished painting

Next the painting was delivered to the printer (Corporate Graphics) where it was scanned and sent to Michael Sellner (graphic designer) for layout. I worked with Michael sorting through many design options until we had the perfect one. Then came more proofs for the text, spacing, and all the small details for the back cover.

426761_WelcomCvr_Final.indd

A book cover is born!

426761_WelcomeCvrDesigns_Proof5FINAL

The book will be released on November 1st. I’m currently taking pre-publication orders on my website: www.mnheritage.com. Have you ordered your limited edition copy yet?

